A One Nepal Trek Pvt. Ltd. Nepal Govt. Regd No: 1340/071/072

Nepal at Glance

Official Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal.
Area: 147,181 sq km.
Geography: Nepal is a landlocked country located between China, in the North, and India in East, West and South. Highest point Mt. Everest (8,848m) and lowest Kechana (60m above sea level).
Capital: Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal. Kathmandu is a valley surrounded by four hills – Fulchowki, Chandragiri, Shivapuri and Nagarjun. Kathmandu valley has three major cities Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, Patan. Situated at the altitude of 4,500 feet above sea level, Kathmandu is home to seven UNESCO World Heritage sites. Before the unification of Nepal in the 18th Century, the three cities were independent states ruled by the Malla kings.
Population: 29.3 million (according to the census of 2010)
Language: Nepali is the national language. However, people speak Newari, Bhiojpuri, and Maithali among others as their mother tongue. People in the urban areas understand English quite well.
Climate: Nepal has four seasons, namely, (01): Winter (Dec-Feb),(02): Spring (Mar-May),(03): Summer (Jun-Aug)(04):Autumn (Sep-Nov). Nepal can be visited round the year.
Political system: Multi-party system of Democracy.
People\religion: Nepal had more than 105 ethnic groups with diverse culture, traditions and lifestyle. Nepali people can be divided into two distinct groups:Indo-Burman and Mongoloid. Nepal is a secular state with majority of people following Hinduism. However, people practicing Buddhism, Christianity and Islam among others live in a good harmony.
Administrative Division: Though Nepal is a federal republic, federal states are yet to be carved. Nepal is divided into five development regions, 14 Zones and 75 Districts.
Geographical Division: Geographically, Nepal is divided into Hills, Mountain and Tarai regions.

Entry Procedures:
All foreigners, except the Indians, need to have a valid passport and a visa to enter Nepal. Visas can be availed from Nepali diplomatic missions and consular offices station abroad or upon arrival at Tribhuvan International Airport and other entry points.